May 9, 2021
  • 5:53 am The effect of vertical migration strategy on retention and dispersion in the Irish Sea during spring–summer
  • 5:50 am The basal roughness of Pine Island Glacier, West Antarctica
  • 5:48 am Tracking fitness in marine vertebrates: current knowledge and opportunities for future research
  • 5:47 am Coastal barium cycling at the West Antarctic Peninsula
  • 5:59 am Tour bus headed to Masters overturns, driver charged with DUI: Officials

first_imgNew Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s C R Patil came close to shattering the all-time record of victory margin in a parliamentary election when he defeated his Congress rival in the Navsari Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat by a difference of 6.89 lakh votes — the highest in the 2019 polls.His margin was just a shade lower than the 6.96 lakh record set by Pritam Munde in October 2014 when she won the by-election to Beed seat in Maharashtra after the untimely death of her father and former Union minister Gopinath Munde. Also Read – Pak activated 20 terror camps & 20 launch pads along LoCThe lowest margin of victory, too, was with a BJP candidate when Bholanath managed to win the Machhlishahr seat in Uttar Pradesh by only 181 votes. So, the feat of winning a parliamentary constituency by both the highest and the lowest margin in the Lok Sabha poll belongs to candidates of the BJP which emerged victorious by winning 302 seats out of the 541 of which the results were declared till afternoon. Patil has party colleagues Sanjay Bhatia, Krishan Pal and Subhash Chandra Baheria in the 6 lakh-plus club, while about a dozen other candidates have won by over 5 lakh margin. Also Read – Two squadrons which participated in Balakot airstrike awarded citationsPrime Minister Narendra Modi widened his victory margin to 4.79 lakh votes when he defeated his nearest rival of Shalini Yadav of Samajwadi Party in Varanasi parliamentary constituency. In 2014, he had defeated Arvind Kejriwal by 3.71 lakh votes. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah won his maiden Lok Sabha election by a huge margin of 5.57 lakh votes from Gandhinagar in Gujarat this elections, bettering senior party leader L K Advani’s margin of 4.83 lakh votes in 2014. Bholanath is followed by Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate from Lakshadweep Mohammed Faizal P P, who defeated his near rival by 823 votes.last_img read more